Home Page >> LIFE & STYLE 9 September 2019, Monday 12:20

WRC: Rally Turkey starts its engines on Thursday

WRC: Rally Turkey starts its engines on ThursdayRally Turkey to be held on Sept. 12-15 in scenic Mediterranean resort town of Marmaris on Turkish Mediterranean  


The 11th leg of the World Rally Championship (WRC) will begin in southwestern Turkey on Thursday with Toyota driver Ott Tanak currently in the top spot with a healthy 33-point lead.
The four-day Rally Turkey will be held in the Mediterranean resort town of Marmaris and features 17 special stages (SS) and 310.1 competitive kilometers in a route of 988.5 km.
According to the race's website, there are several minor revisions to the format from 2018, including the introduction of a 17-km Kizlan stage (SS10 and SS13) that winds its way around the coastline. Also, the Cicekli Stage (SS16) has been moved from Friday to Sunday morning and will be run in the opposite direction from 2018 ahead of the Wolf Power Stage finale.
The rally will wave the starting flag with a ceremonial start at Marmaris Square, followed by a super special stage to attract thousands of spectators before Friday's on-stage action.
Teams will face six special stages on Friday and Saturday.
Although a short stage by rally standards, Datca offers incredible scenery and spectacular backdrops to the sea.
Two runs through the 7.22 km Marmaris stage -- the second acting as the Wolf Power Stage -- Gokce (11.32 km) and Cicekli (13.20 km) will ensure the final section on Sunday.
Rally Turkey first joined the WRC calendar in 2003 and was held until 2010 before returning to the calendar in 2018. On the event’s return last year, Ott Tanak and Martin Jarveoja claimed a 22.3-second victory in their Toyota Yaris WRC.
The official candidate event in 2017 was won by the Turkish duo of Orhan Avcioglu and Burcin Korkmaz.
As the rally is entering its last four races, every point is important for the championship battle. Rally Turkey is set to be followed by Rally England, Spain, and Australia.

Here are the points standings of the top 10 WRC drivers: 

1. Ott Tanak                             205                  Toyota

2. Thierry Neuville                   172                  Hyundai

3. Sebastien Ogier                   165                  Citroen

4. Kris Meeke                           80                    Toyota

5. Andreas Mikkelsen              79                    Hyundai

6. Elfyn Evans                          78                    Ford

7. Jari-Matti Latvala                  74                   Toyota  

8. Teemu Suninen                     70                   Ford

9. Dani Sordo                            62                   Hyundai

10. Esapekka Lappi                  62                   Citroen


Show Your Response


Facebook yorum
Banksy plays with violence and innocence in Valentine's Day graffiti
image A piece of street art showing a young girl firing a slingshot of flowers at a building in Bristol is by Banksy, the elusive artist has confirmed.
'Parasite' makes Oscars history with stunning best picture win
image South Korean black comedy "Parasite" made movie history at the Oscars on Feb. 9, becoming the first non-English-language film to win the best picture award, Hollywood's biggest prize of all.
'Friends' reunion: Will all the cast gather?
image Some great news for fans waiting for a long-awaited reunion, Warner Bros is finalizing deals with the cast of "Friends" for a reunion special that will likely be used to launch the HBO Max streaming service this sprin...